books · Old Posts

My view on the 50 Shades Trilogy so Far

I have now read both the first and second books. I don’t usually find it easy to sit and read a book for a long period of time. However, I was glued to these books! I never wanted to put the book down in case I was just pages away from something really gripping. Oh I might have put a few spoilers in so don’t read if you don’t want anything given away.

I found the storyline of the ‘situation’ interesting, so much so that even though I had been ill for a full week and barely able to move the first couple of days, I still ended up reading for a bit while I was awake (which admittedly wasn’t a long time). It is easy to follow and, if you overlook the repetitiveness, a good read. I can’t help but feel a little bit of sympathy for Christian after reading about his childhood. It makes it easier to understand why he is the way he is. I don’t particularly like Anastasia Steele though. I heard that the characters in this book were based on characters from Twilight. Ana is just like Bella in that she’s not confident, naive and annoying.

It is a bit hard to believe that so much has happened in the space of a few weeks. First of all, she met him by accident and he then went and found out everything about her, even her bank account number. She tells him she is a virgin but he decides they could fix that and now she’s fine with all sorts of kinky stuff with some guy that has already had 15 submissive’s before her. He sends her expensive gifts like a Macbook, Blackberry and car among other things. They went to his parents house. She barely knows the guy but says she will never leave him and loves him even after being subjected to pain. Oh and the amount of sex is unbelievable. I don’t know how anyone could have that much sex in the space of a weekend. To be honest, I don’t know where she has the time to go to work.

I don’t mind the amount of sex related scenes but I think it would be better if E.L James used other words to make it less repetitive. I have lost count of the amount of times I have read things like:

“His words are my undoing”

“I am spent”

“Oh, please!”

Despite the repetitiveness, it is interesting to see how their relationship grows and how it changes both characters. It provides a wee fantasy for women I guess, imaging their own Christian Grey and I have heard stories about women trying out some of the acts performed in the book. I guess in a way these books help people to be more open to exploring their sexuality (I am not one of these people, just so you know) and could help to reignite relationships for some because it would give them ideas to ‘mix it up’ a bit.

Friends who have read the book all love it, even if parts of it is a bit gross….I mean, letting a guy come up behind you and pull out your tampon, really? One went out to buy the other books straight away after finishing the first book. I actually found myself wondering what was going to happen next as I went about my work and, well, pretty much any time I wasn’t reading it. I was like that during the plot about the ‘situation’ the most. I also liked the bit (don’t read this if you dont want it spoiled) where Christian went into submissive mode. That was a good twist. I didn’t expect that to happen at all.

 

I am definitely going to read the final book. I have to know what happens in the end!

 

What do you think of it?

 

Leave a Reply

