Fashion and Accessories · Old Posts

Small Fingers

Hey,

 

Over the past week I have been looking for a ring that I could get for my birthday. My dad had asked me months ago if I would like jewellery or if I would prefer money. I decided that I wanted a ring since it will be my 21st.

 

 

I want a nice ring but it has to be really small because my fingers are really tiny. We went to a jewelers that my dad buys from. He had warned the man that my hands were small but he couldn’t believe just how small they were when he saw them. I tried on pretty much every ring but NONE of them suited my hand because of how small my hand is. Everything just looked massive on my fingers, even just little rings with diamonds like this looked wrong:

 

                                                                                                

 

I was given a ring to try on and it suited my hand! he was trying to save it for the end because it would be a popular ring that is hard to beat. It was only £40 and was sterling silver (no idea about the rest of the details). It had a circle shaped diamond in the middle and was surrounded by little diamonds. The jeweler went on the phone to see if it could be made in my size.

 

 

It could….if a new mould was made for that finger size. Creating a new mould could mean a £50 charger to the jeweler on top of the price of the ring. Both the jeweler and my dad decided it wasn’t worth it straight away. =[ They tried to offer me earrings so I showed the man how small my ears were too. “No earrings then” he laughed. Same with a watch. I told him all the links had to be taken out of the watch I was wearing at the time and that I only wear it to go to work. I didn’t want a necklace either because I already have necklaces and I hardly wear them.

 

 

Once we left the shop, my dad said “Well, that’s a ring out of the picture, do you just want money?” I told him I didn’t want the money, only a ring. He told me that he didn’t want to go to another jeweler, he would prefer to stay with the one we had just left.

 

 

I was so sad the rest of the day. I knew it would be hard to find a ring but I hadn’t thought of how difficult it would be to get a ring in my size. it is a child’s size after all.

 

 

I could always get a child’s ring….but I don’t want to get a child’s ring for my 21st birthday. I have children’s rings (not silver or including diamonds) but, to be honest, I want something grown up. I don’t want to be given money because I know that, because I have a twin, he won’t be fair and give us the same amount that he gave our sister for he 21st. His reason would be “But there are 2 of you” meaning he would split it so that we get half the amount he gave our sister each…or less. Just because we are twins doesn’t make it OK to half the amount. It was his idea to buy us jewelry for our 21st birthdays so I don’t want to get a bit of money. Also, I know that any money I would receive would end up being spent on Christmas presents for other people which isn’t fair. It happens every year. I never get to spend my birthday money on myself because of how many people I have to buy for.

 

 

On my way home from work on Friday, i went into Karine and Co. I found a ring that was even better than the one we saw in the jewelers. I loved it. I asked the woman what the smallest size they could get was. She asked to see my fingers. Again, I got a shocked reaction. She asked my size and told me that the smallest size they could get would be size I…way too big for me. My fingers are only F 1/2

 

 

I stopped by another jewelry shop on my way home…the man was so sleazy! He asked why I wasn’t in school so I said “Because I’m about to turn 21, I don’t go to school”. He apologised but as soon as heard my age he started standing as close as he possibly could and told me how my style was great and he liked it (I had tiny shorts on – with tights of course) and I could see him looking at them. He started asking where I lived and worked (I was still wearing my name tag so he already knew the answer to where I worked) and he kept saying I was a “Lovely wee thing” and telling me stories about how small people are tough and that his mum had 9 kids and she was as small as me. He told me he could give me a special price because I’m “just so lovely” if I ever bought anything and started shaking my hand. Needless to say, I didn’t even get to look at the rings.

 

 

 

I’m heading out with my dad again tomorrow. We still have a couple of weeks left before my birthday so hopefully we can find a ring to suit me by then. I won’t give up!

 

 

I’m going to look at rings online to see if I can find anywhere that would do a ring small enough for me (that is close by so I can go to the shop)

 

 

Byebye (^.^)/

12 thoughts on “Small Fingers

  1. Im a size I and had such a nightmare trying to order my wedding ring so I can imagine how difficult an F must be, I wos told many times to buy the large size then get it sent it off to be sized down, maybe you ask about that as a possibility, hope you find one that you like xx

    1. It’s so hard! My boyfriend laughed and said he never has to buy me a ring then because it wouldn’t be a suprise if I had to make sure it fitted before they make it. I wouldn’t mind doing that but if they sized it down I would probably lose some of the diamonds and it would end up costing more than what my dad would pay for. Thanks, I won’t give up looking. I still have some time left so there is still hope

      1. You are right about losing some of the diamonds, I hadn’t thought of that, I know that argos sizes them down free of charge (but they are shit shit, they lost two of my wedding rings I ordered through them).

      2. Oh my goodness seriously? Losing 2 rings….how did they even manage that. You’d think they’d be more careful with wedding rings. What happened in the end? Did you get one from Argos or did you go somewhere else? Had you already paid for the rings that Argos lost?

      3. I ordered two, one my husband and one for myself, they were gorgeous and matching, argos left a voicemail on my phone to say that they were ready to pick up so we went to collect, I got there and they denied any knowledge of my order, I played them the voicemail and they went to look but couldnt find them, went back next day still couldnt find them so I left, husband ended up getting his from another jeweller but I had trouble finding one in my size so two weeks before the wedding went back to argos and ordered another, they promised me it would be there in time etc, on the same day I went to another jewellers and saw one i liked and they ordered it and it arrived the next day, the second argos ring never turned up so I wont buy jewellry from there anymore. Luckily I had not handed argos any money as even if the rings did turn up they had me sized as a K so they would have been to big 😦

      4. Oh my goodness, that sounds awful. Good job you had the voicemail to prove your order. I’m not a fan of the Argos system where you order from the book and then they go to find it. It seems easy to lose orders in there which isn’t good. You were smart not to give the money straight away. Knowing me, I would have given the money =S. How did they manage to size you wrong? I’m glad you were able to get a ring for both yourself and your husband. How long have you been married for?

      5. Not long – we got married on 1st October but I have been with him for twelve years and we have a Daughter together, we just popped to the local registry office and didnt tell anyone til afterwards 🙂

      6. Wow you’ve been together a long time. I’ve been with m boyfriend for 4 1/2 years…it seems such a short time compared to you ^.^’ That would be a good idea, nice and simple and quiet…and a lot less expensive than a wedding. Was your daughter with you when you went to the registry office?

      7. Yes, there was my husband, me and my little girl plus husbands uncle and his partner as witnesses. The school let my daughter have the day off as it was a special occasion.
        I had only just turned 20 when I met him, it is a long time but it only feels like a year 🙂 Do you think you and your boyfriend will get married and have children one day?

      8. Aww that was nice of the school. It was a nice small thing then. Sounds a lot less stressful.
        Wow, being with someone for so long just feels like thats how its always been. We have been together since we were 16. I can’t remember not having a boyfriend now =D You sound like you have a lovely marriage.
        Hmm…I hope so. He isn’t keen on kids but he knows I absolutely love them. he says he doesn’t mind kids once they get a bit older and they can do more. He says he never wants to get married or have kids but then he would mention kids/marriage for in the future. Hopefully it does happen some day.

      9. I ordered two, one my husband and one for myself, they were gorgeous and matching, argos left a voicemail on my phone to say that they were ready to pick up so we went to collect, I got there and they denied any knowledge of my order, I played them the voicemail and they went to look but couldnt find them, went back next day still couldnt find them so I left, husband ended up getting his from another jeweller but I had trouble finding one in my size so two weeks before the wedding went back to argos and ordered another, they promised me it would be there in time etc, on the same day I went to another jewellers and saw one i liked and they ordered it and it arrived the next day, the second argos ring never turned up so I wont buy jewellry from there anymore. Luckily I had not handed argos any money as even if the rings did turn up they had me sized as a K so they would have been to big 😦

Leave a Reply

