books · Old Posts

The Birthing House by Christopher Ransom

A couple of days ago I bought The Birthing House by Christopher Ransom thinking it looked scary and interesting. I had hoped it was as good as I thought it would be.

 

 

 

I began to read it later that day and after a bit of a slow start) the book became interesting. So much so that I kept reading it until quite late before sleeping (and then hoping I wouldn’t have nightmares about it.) I even woke up early to read it before work. Still glued, I had to take the book with me. I sat in the car park reading it as I waited for the doors at the side of the shopping centre I was at to open. In the end I decided to walk round to the other side all while reading the book.

 

 

 

Even today, I spent most of the day reading it until it was finished. I couldn’t put it down. Every now and then it got so terrifying that I had to put the book down to give my heart a chance to calm down.

 

 

 

There were parts that I didn’t really get but everything became clear closer to the end of the book. Also, I didn’t really see the need for the paragraphs about sex with his wife. After all, she was barely at the house and it wasn’t really the best written. Then again, I was comparing  it to the 50 Shades trilogy and that is on a totally different level.

 

 

 

Overall, it was a good book. If you like reading about ghosts and stuff you should give it a go. My only suggestion is not to put music in your ears while you read. I was lying on the bed with Marilyn Manson quite loudly in my ears. Sure, I heard the bedroom door but when I peered under the book and saw nothing I told myself it was part of the music. Moments later, Chris grabbed my legs. It just happened to be when I was reading a terrifying bit of the book. It really almost gave me a heart attack. I thought it was something from the book >.<

 

 

 

Anyway, give it a try. Let me know what you think of it if you have read it =]

Leave a Reply

