food · Old Posts

Homemade Soup

Hey,

 

 

Today I’ll post about homemade creamy soup.

 

 

First of all, I think that soup is best when it’s creamy like the ones in tins. The water and vegetables just isn’t soup to me. I made this soup during my H.E exam (5 or 6 years ago) so I had an idea of how to make it already. I decided to make homemade soup for 2 reasons; to show Chris I can do it and because it’s getting colder in the mornings when I get up for work so soup would be nice to heat me up.

 

 

I double checked how long to cook it for online (my go-to for cooking if you haven’t guessed by now) and started cooking as soon as we had finished our dinner (hopefully that explains the darkness of the picture)

 

 

You’ll need:

 

1 tablespoon butter

vegetables of your choice – I chose celery and carrots

1 potato diced

1 stock cube

milk

 

 

What to do:

 

 

1. Melt the butter in a saucepan and add the chopped up vegetables/potato. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring.

 

2. Add the stock cube to boiling water to dissolve then add that to the saucepan, boil for a minute or so then reduce to a simmer for 30 minutes. I used a chicken stock cube but vegetable stock cubes work fine too.

 

3. So, now it looks like a watery vegetable mix. Blend it. It should go thick thanks to the starch from the potato.

 

4. Add it back into the saucepan and stir in some milk until it gets to the way you want it. I only added a little.

 

5. Let that cook for a couple of minutes and you’re done =]

 

 

 

You can add chicken if you want but I kept it simple (totally not because I was saving the chicken for Chris’ lunch the next day)

 

 

2013-09-11 19.32.39

 

 

 

Simple, right? If you try it, let me know how it goes.

 

 

Byebye (^.^)/

Leave a Reply

