Anime/Manga · Old Posts

Red River

Red River is about a fifteen-year old Japanese girl named Yuri Suzuki, who is magically transported to Hattusa, the capital of the Hittite Empire in Anatolia. She was summoned by Queen Nakia who means to use Yuri as a human sacrifice. Yuri’s blood is the key element needed in placing a curse upon the princes of the land so that they will perish, leaving Nakia’s son as the sole heir to the throne.

 

It’ not something I’d usually read but I gave it a go. I did find it difficult to read a few chapters in one go because some were so long and at times the story was a bit much to be taking it all at once. However, I LOVED it. Some of the characters grew on me as time went on. I had suspicions about Ilbani the whole way through the manga but even he grew on me. Also, I loved Aslan. That horse is just too cool. “An arrow hit me? I’ll just yank it out with my teeth and keep running.” (The horse doesn’t speak btw. I just got that impression from a certain scene.) I liked how every now and then it would say a bit about the History of the places and stuff. It as like a mini lesson. How much of it is true though…I have no idea. I think I’ll add it to my ‘to buy’ list.

 

 

Leave a Reply

