books · Old Posts · Uncategorized

The Sleep Room by F.R Tallis

Hey

 

I got this book way back in July but I stopped reading it for a while. Partly because I found it a bit hard to get into and partly because I had been busy.

 

The story is about

When promising psychiatrist, James Richardson, is offered the job opportunity of a lifetime, he is thrilled. Setting off to take up his post at Wyldehope Hall in deepest Suffolk, Richardson doesn’t look back.

One of his tasks is to manage a controversial project – a pioneering therapy in which extremely disturbed patients are kept asleep for months. As Richardson settles into his new life, he begins to sense something uncanny about the sleeping patients – six women, forsaken by society. Why is the trainee nurse so on edge when she spends nights alone with them? And what can it mean when all the sleepers start dreaming at the same time?

It’s not long before Richardson finds himself questioning everything he knows about the human mind as he attempts to uncover the shocking secrets of The Sleep Room .

 

Thank you Tor Books for that (making life easy for me instead of writing it out myself…yup I’m lazy.)

 

Sounds creepy, right? Well, for me, I found that the scary happenings only really got interesting close to the end of the book. Even at that I didn’t find it really scary which is a bit of a let down when I had heard it was supposed to be the “scariest book you’ll read this year.” I found the birthing house way more scary.

 

Also, I wasn’t satisfied with the ending at all. I can’t say what happened or else I’d spoil it but I just didn’t think it was that good of an ending. It kind of felt like it was put together quickly. That’s just me though.

 

Well, that’s my opinion. I’d give it about 6/10.

Leave a Reply

