books · Old Posts

Half A King: Review and Giveaway

Hey

 

Today I have a review for you. The Big Shot contacted me asking if I would be interested in reviewing books for them and kindly sent me two books for review. The first book I received is Half A King by Joe Abercrombie. The story is set around the Shattered Sea and is the first of his latest trilogy. It centers around a character called Yarvi; the youngest prince of a kingdom thrust into the spotlight. However, not everyone is happy about this and soon a tale of betrayal and revenge unfolds.

 

 

“I swore an oath to avenge the death of my father. I may be half a man, but I swore a whole oath.”

Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains, and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea. And he must do it all with only one good hand.

The deceived will become the deceiver.

Born a weakling in the eyes of his father, Yarvi is alone in a world where a strong arm and a cold heart rule. He cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so he must sharpen his mind to a deadly edge.

The betrayed will become the betrayer.

Gathering a strange fellowship of the outcast and the lost, he finds they can do more to help him become the man he needs to be than any court of nobles could.

Will the usurped become the usurper?

But even with loyal friends at his side, Yarvi finds his path may end as it began—in twists, and traps, and tragedy.

 

Chris took a look at the book and told me I wouldn’t like it since it was similar to Game of Thrones. However, he was completely wrong. I was hooked on this book, excited to see what would happen next. I took it to England with me to read on the plane. All I can say is this book must be amazing because I was so into the story that I completely forgot I was flying! By the middle of the book I just could not put it down. I must have sat for 3 hours one night reading, only stopping because my eyes were going blurry due to tiredness. The next morning I got up and headed straight to the book to finish it. I loved the characters, most of all ‘Nothing’. He really made it interesting. I had my suspicions about him for a while, thinking he might try to kill Yarvi as he had a debt to settle in Yarvi’s home country but I loved him because he was just mad in the head and added that extra interest, never knowing what he might do. Towards the end of the book I felt a bit proud of Yarvi as you could see his transition from boy to man and his decisions and cunning. While I was reading, I realised that this book teaches you to be thankful for what you have which is great for young readers as we take so much for granted these days. Another thing I loved about this book was the amazing twists at the end. I never would have suspected it at all which is what made it so interesting. If you enjoyed Joe Abercrombie’s ‘The First Law’ trilogy, you’ll love this.

 

In fact, I loved the book so much that I am going to host a giveaway for it!

 

Here’s the rules:

 

1. Comment on this post.

2. Share/follow. If you do this, write it in a comment and you get another chance for each you do e.g. comment share and follow means you get 3 chances to win.

 

It’s as simple as that. Once the giveaway closes, I will write down all of the names and put them in a bowl and get Chris to pick one out. The winner will be given 48 hours to respond. If the 48 hours runs out, another winner will be chosen. Once the winner is in contact, I will need your address to send the book to you.

 

The giveaway will be open for a week – it ends on the 21st July.

 

Good luck!

16 thoughts on “Half A King: Review and Giveaway

  1. From your review, the book sounds exciting! Thanks for sharing. This could be my next read and spread the love in my own blog. I hope Chris picks me… fingers crossed!

  2. Followed! 🙂 Half a King sounds great!! Been wanting to read Game of Thrones and venture into this genre! You just gave me the push I needed lol 🙂 Thanks for suggesting this!

Leave a Reply

