april blogging challenge · Old Posts

Day 11 – Positivity

Good morning!

This time last week, I was lying sick with a temperature and a massive headache and had slept on and off all day Friday and Saturday. Chris, dear love him, couldn’t do enough for me. He was checking on me and getting me anything I wanted. I got to lie on our couch while he put a movie on for me (which I slept through most of) and even dried my hair. When I was feeling awful he told me I looked nice too. From watching him look after me it made me realise how he will one day be a good Dad and how lucky I am to have him. He spent his time off work looking after me instead of relaxing and all I could do was say ”I’m sorry.” As a result he got sick the night before he had to go back to work.

Anyway, today’s topic is: Tell us positive things about yourself. I like to do this at work. If you work with a group of children, get everyone to sit in one area and have children say something positive about one another . You start e.g. ”*name of child* did very good sitting today and that made me very happy. well done *child’s name*”. Next, this child will tell another child something they thought the child did well that day and so on. Just make sure that every child gets to hear something good about themselves so that nobody feels left out or that nobody likes them. This is such a simple activity that doesn’t take long to do but can have a positive effect on a child’s self esteem. However, as easy as it can be to find good things in others, it can be difficult to find positive things about ourselves so I think this is a good topic as it gives us a chance to look at ourselves and find the good things. My positive points about myself are:

I’m kind – If someone needs help, I will help them. If they’re sick, I want to help them get better. I don’t want to be a person who intentionally says things to hurt others. I want to be the type of person who can help others feel better when they’re having a hard day.

I’m a naturally happy person – I smile so much. I mean there’s days I just smile all day for no reason and it can make others around me smile too. Happy days are fun days.

I haven’t given up – Since May last year, I have hopped between childcare jobs. One school to the next. Never was there anything permanent. It ruined my confidence quite a bit because for my first childcare job, I was told I would probably be kept on the next school year  but unfortunately there was a reshuffle of staff and so I wasn’t kept. For me, that was so upsetting and I cried about it but I can understand at the same time and that’s fine. I would just have to try again and so I did. I went on and found another job, quit working in a shop and then my second job in childcare ended. Again, I was in pieces but, I went out the next day with my CV and was asked by one place to come back the next day for an interview where I was told to start on Monday and stayed for 3 months. Again, all of these were temporary. Finally, I ended up working where I am now. On a permanent basis. I will admit there are times when I’m unsure whether my job will last but that is because of the past experiences. Once my probation period is over I will probably feel more at ease. My point is, every time, I picked myself up, dusted myself off and tried again even though I wanted to give up and it took me to where I am now. There are always better places out there if you look.

I’ve kept up my blog for 4 years – I started my blog on a whim while I was still a teenager. I spent so much time on my blog, posting 125 posts in my first year and 208 in its second year. In the third year my blog started to get neglected a bit since I started a night class and got super busy with that and work and doing a placement so I only ended up posting 89 posts which is a massive drop. Somehow though, everyone still kept following me and I even gained some lovely new followers so thank you to everyone who kept up with me. This year I will try harder to make my blog more interesting and update more often. I will try to find new topics to write about so if you have anything you would like to see on my blog, let me know.

Well, that’s it until tomorrow

Bye (^.^)/

Leave a Reply

