april blogging challenge · Old Posts

If One Ticket Could Change Everything

Good morning and happy Friday everyone! It’s day 17 of the April Blogging Challenge. Today the topic is “If you won the lottery, what would you do with the money?” What a fun, fanciful thought for a Friday morning. I remember when I was a child, I would help my Dad pick the numbers for the lottery each week. I used to be so excited thinking the number I chose might come onto the TV screen (sometimes it did, but the rest of the numbers we chose did not). Now, winning the lottery does not mean you have won loads but for this post, lets pretend we won 1 million. Just for the fun of it. What would you do with the money?

Some people might quit their jobs and go on a long holiday, buy designer everything and a huge mansion. I have to say, I would be careful with the money. I would buy a normal house, nothing super huge or fancy because I have no need for a 10 bedroom mansion with like 5 reception rooms and an indoor pool/cinema. I would just buy the house outright so that there is no mortgage to pay. I would do the house up to be modern inside but wouldn’t spend a crazy amount. I don’t need a £1000 coffee table or anything like that. I’d probably still go to IKEA and that sort of place to buy the things I want.

After that, I would pay for a nice wedding. Assuming I was already engaged. Again, I don’t want a big wedding but I would like to spend a decent amount on food and decorations to make sure everyone enjoys the food/cake and that place looks nice. Oh and a pretty dress. Nothing too fancy.

Thirdly, I would buy a brand new car that is known to be a good make so that I could hopefully have a decent and easy to drive car that doesn’t break every two seconds. Not a fancy car, just a good brand of car.

Finally, the remaining money I would save for the future. For if I had kids. When that happens I would open a savings account in their name and put so much in it so that when they become adults, they will have money to start them off. However, I would teach my children to value money so that they won’t think “Oh yea great lets spend it all on whatever I feel like” and waste it.

Even if I did win the lottery I would continue to work every day. I couldn’t just quit my job because eventually, the money would run out and I like working. It gives me something to do every day and gives the opportunity to meet new people and try new things.

So, if you won the lottery what would you do with the money?

I’ll be back again tomorrow (^.^)/

Leave a Reply

