april blogging challenge · Old Posts

Religion: My View

Hey everyone.

Today, the challenge involves talking about our views on religion. For some reason, when people try to talk about religion it ends up a heated discussion with people of different religions trying to pick holes in each other. I don’t want this post to end up like that.

I’ll keep this post short and simple. I do believe there is a God. I am a christian and have been going to a Pentecostal church for the past 9 years now. I have met many people who will go around the town ministering to ‘non believers’, encouraging them to come to the church in hopes of them making the decision to follow God and its great how they have the confidence to do that when there are troubles in the town. In my town there is a ‘Protestant area’ and ‘Catholic area’. Usually you wouldn’t want to walk into an area where you knew if you revealed which area you were from you could get attacked. Well, I heard of one young girl from my church and two friends walking straight into the park where they sat beside a man and started asking him to come to the church and his views on God. Even when the man asked which side they were from, one of the girls did not move even though it seemed as if they were about to be attacked. She said she wasn’t from the area and continued to minister to this man. That’s pretty brave.

Personally, while I believe there is a God and do go to church, I won’t force my beliefs on others as I firstly, wouldn’t have the confidence and secondly, wasn’t brought up in a household where we were taught much about God so seeing all these people going out and openly talking about their beliefs in a real enthusiastic way is a bit alien to me. It’s great that they were brought up in a way that allows them to have that confidence to speak to random people about God and are surrounded by friends who all feel the same way as them as it will help them to grow in their relationship with God. I don’t condone it at all. Their actions could change someone elses life for the better. I think that everyone is free to choose what religion to follow or if they want to follow any at all.

Leave a Reply

