april blogging challenge · Old Posts

Meeting Online Friends

Hello everyone. It’s another lovely morning. I’ve just had my Sunday morning fix of Post Secret. I love reading the different posts. I think its a nice idea to be able to share a secret anonymously as it can lift the weight off some peoples shoulders. People can share secrets with strangers on the internet that they probably wont meet in real life..well, at least know that they’ve met them. They may have served you coffee at Starbucks and neither of you would know their secret was read by the other person. That’s just what happens when you go on the internet. At times, we talk with others online and build up an online friendship. However, from a young age we are taught not to meet up with people that we talk to online. Why? Well, can we really be sure that the person we are talking to is who they say they are? What would happen if we actually met up with an online friend?

I agree that it can be dangerous meeting with an online friend but sometimes we have to take a risk. As you know, Chris and I went to Germany and met two of his online friends (who were from Denmark and Norway). It was a big risk going to a country where we knew nobody nor the language and even shared an apartment with these guys. Anything could have happened but it didn’t. Both guys were pretty normal and we all got along. I’m not saying for you to pack your bags and go meet that person in another country like we did but do take a risk. It could all be fine. Just make sure you’re somewhere with a lot of people and ideally, not in a foreign country although that’s not always possible as we can connect with people all over the world online.

You’ve probably guessed by now that today’s topic is to pick 5 online friends you would like to meet in real life. I actually find this a bit tricky as I don’t really have online friends. I have people whose blogs I really enjoy and who used to talk to me regularly through our blogs comment sections but they’ve disappeared over the years. Some decided to stop blogging altogether and others simply vanished one day. If I had to choose, the five people I would like to meet are:

  1. ‘Happiness’ from Lang-8: She is from Japan and helps me to learn on the site. I took a break for about a year but as soon as I wrote one entry a couple of weeks ago, she was the first to contact me welcoming me back and saying how she’s glad I’m back as if she missed me. I don’t have enough skill to converse in Japanese yet though.
  2. The blogger behind poundlandprincess. I never learned her name but we spent a lot of time chatting in our comments until one day 2 years ago, she disappeared. Lately I’ve been thinking about her and I hope she is well. I would like to meet her to see if she is OK as at the time she disappeared, she had a lot of things going on.
  3. Ashee from cupcakesakura: When I was just starting out my blog, we talked often and discovered we both worked in TKMAXX at the time (in different locations but both in Northern Ireland). After a year or so she decided to stop blogging and do other things with her life. I’d love to see how she’s doing now as she was a lovely girl and my first blogging friend.
  4. Martin
  5. Thomas

OK so numbers 4 and 5 are the two we went to Germany to meet and they’re also going to Japan with us so I’m kind of cheating but I don’t have anyone else >.< I feel like a creep for my choices though. Honestly, I’d just like to get in touch with them to see how they’re doing now and check everyone’s alright. Am I a creep?

Leave a Reply

